Pieces of Random

Well, quilt friends. It’s been a rough week at Big Little City Quilts. On Monday I had to say goodbye to my beloved canine companion of 16 years, Link. It was a terrible day but he went in my arms at home wrapped up in a crocheted blanket he was probably woven into from spending so many evenings in my lap underneath it as it grew. But as we know, life goes on and here and there I’ve carved out a couple of minutes to make something as there is no greater therapy.

This is a silly easy thing that I have been meaning to do for a while. It’s a little card personalized with fabric and some quick stitching. It was a thank you note to my out of town hosts this past weekend. These are going to happen all the time.

This beauty has *mostly* gone out the door. I sent it without enough postage the first time and need to swing back by the post office to really get it on its way. I don’t have any great photos of it. The sun hasn’t been out for 3 weeks until today. I am not exaggerating.

I even started teaching myself English Paper Piecing. I signed up for a class on April 1st but guys, I think I kind of figured it out on my own. I’m sure there are a number of other classes that I could switch to. ALL THE CRAFTS.

I was also able to meet the adorable Margot Rose who I could tell, even without her opening her eyes, really loved the quilt I made for her.

It is the beginning of SXSW here and my 11-year anniversary of moving to Austin. Tonight I plan to sit outside with friends and drink cold beers, reminisce, and send up a well deserved toast to the world’s best dog ever.

Cheers, Badinkus!

 

 

Leave a Reply

