Light as a Feather…

 

 

I was recently commissioned by a mom to be to make a variation on my feather quilt for her son. In addition to making it slightly wider, she wanted to add a wolf on the back. Initial thought: ???? We’ll come back to that.

photo 1 photo 2

To make the feathers, you start with your strips of color as above. You piece all of those strips together and then using a template, you cut out the left and right sides of the feather. You can spin the template 180 degrees to flip the colors and you can flip it over to have the stripes slope one way or the other. I have no idea how I actually get that second thing to happen sometimes. This concept is one my brain doesn’t quite get. It works out though.

photo

Here are the left and right sides as well as the center stem. Before you can attach them all to one another, you have had to cut out a piece that fills out the bottom of each side so that they are the same length as the stem.

photo (1)

Like so. The most time consuming part of this is probably putting together the strips and cutting each half of the leaf out. After that, the other template pieces are straight forward and this sews up fairly quickly. Let’s come back to the wolf.tumblr_nfpoxuwU9r1roboc7o1_1280

This is the picture my client sent me. I actually really like this but there is NO WAY I was going to piece this together given what I’m charging her for the quilt (which btw, is not nearly enough, I KNOW!). But as soon as I saw it, I knew exactly what fabric (that I already have in my stash) will work perfectly.

 

photo 3

And there you have it. Kaleidoscope Wolf. This is about 8 inches long. I’m going to try and enlarge it to something closer to 12. Attaching it is going to be an experiment and will hopefully involve some happy accidents?

photo (2)

These are the feather blocks attached in rows.

photo

This is the entire top getting basted to the backing in preparation for quilting. Originally I tried to use a flannel backing. NEVER. AGAIN.

photo (3)

Look at this hot mess! The flannel pulled all over the place. Fortunately, I have a very communicative client who said she trusted me to find a solution. And did I ever. I have the softest, most buttery pinstripe in pale blue that just looks perfect with the front.

The quilting is still a pain in the butt because my machine is woefully small (it may be about time to upgrade) but I think it’s going to turn out beautifully. I hope to wrap it up by the end of the weekend because I have a chuppah to make for my best friend’s wedding in June and another commission in the pipeline. Modern Cowboy! I’m really excited about that one.

Also on the boards is the repair of a quilt made for my friend by her grandmother that I’ve had at my house for almost a year. I also have offered to put together a mess of crochet squares into a useable quilt for a friend whose mother recently passed away. Her mother had Alzheimers and would start making the squares and forget what they were for and then start another. I have two giant bags full!

 

 

Leave a Reply

