Timekeeping + SGQ Progress

Making a quilt is a very time intensive process but it wasn’t until I started keeping track of my time that I realized just how much so. Here is my sketch book for my two most recently completed projects.

photo 4photo 3

It’s hard to read. It’s tiny. Let me help. 757 minutes or 12.62 hours.

photo 3photo 1

This one was 763 minutes or 12.72 hours.

And if I was keeping really good time, both probably would have been another 1-2 hours of pressing, rethreading the machine, winding bobbins, choosing fabric, etc. But the fact of the matter is, I don’t really care how long it takes me. The process is so rewarding.

That’s why I’m so excited about the first project for me. The Single Girl Quilt. I cut and pieced all of the rings over the weekend and started cutting the inside and outside background pieces on Monday. I grossly underestimated how much fabric that would take and I’ve pretty much run out about half way through. OH SHUCKS! I’ll have to go to the fabric store where all of the other beautiful fabrics are. Wah, wah.

photo 2photo 3

Here are the ring quarters before and after trimming the threads. I didn’t keep track of this time because I did it while hanging out looking at vacation options for my birthday later in the year. See? So much doesn’t even get tracked! But now that I’m piecing these with the background fabric I am so grateful I took the time, it’s so much less messy.

photo 4

This is Winston disapproving of how much time I’ve been spending on myself.

photo 2 photo 1

Here’s a close up of my sketch book for this project showing each of the fabrics used in the 4 quarters of the ring. That time that Winston begrudges me? 616 minutes or 10.27 hours.  And guess what I have to show for it?

photo 1

ONE completed ring. ONE. I have to make SIXTEEN total. That said, this piece is about 2 feet across. Guys. I’m making a QUEEN SIZED quilt for ME.

2 thoughts on “Timekeeping + SGQ Progress

Leave a Reply

