Two Finishes + Something for Me

First things first. These two lovely quilts have been finished and photographed and are available for sale in my Etsy Shop.

photo 3

Ok, maybe it is still a little Holly Hobbie, but I think it turned out beautifully and I really love the quilting detail lining the petals.

photo 2

photo (2)

And an otherwise very boring back has so much visual interest now.

photo 1

This one was super fun and colorful and came together really quickly. And now that I’m looking at these photos I’m thinking WHAT WAS I THINKING?! These are terrible! I’ll work on getting better photos taken this weekend and will post them here and update my Etsy page. Egad!

photo 2

It was a Monday night after work, what can I say??

But let’s move on, please! I’ve been working on projects for friends for a while now and after a relationship upheaval a week or so ago, I decided it was time to put some of my energy back into ME. To that end, I chose to pull the trigger on the Denyse Schmidt Single Girl Quilt Pattern that I have so long wanted to make. Married folks have the Double Wedding Ring, babies have baby quilts, but what about us spinsters?

I started and finished cutting all of the pieces for the circles this week. There are 31 different colors and each color has 16 pieces. That equals 496 pieces and in all honesty, it didn’t take that long. I’m keeping a log and will update this the next time it and I are in front of a computer at the same time.

That said, it was so nice to go into my stash and pull out all of my favorite fabrics. You don’t need a lot of each so no shopping was necessary. The ring is broken into 4 quarters. You cut those pieces (i.e. A-I, J-M, etc.) from the templates and then put them together.

photo 1

A-H

photo 2

I-O

photo 4

P-W

photo 3

X-EE

Notice anything consistent? Maybe my super quilt assistant? Winston is ever present and is always sure to remind me when it’s time to take a break.

Leave a Reply

